The Kebbi State UBE Board is a parastatal of the Kebbi State Ministry of Education and has been in existence since 1994, under the name, State Primary Education Board. With the passage of the UBE Act into law in 2004, by the National Assemblies, the Universal Basic Education Commission was established by the Federal Government and consequently, all States of the Federation were directed to make enabling laws for the establishment of State UBE Boards.

Kebbi State was in forefront in compliance to the above law establishing the Kebbi State UBE Board in which case it was signed by His Excellency, The Executive Governor of Kebbi State on the 20th July 2005.
With the signing of UBE Bill into law in the State, the hitherto law establishing the State Primary Education Board was abrogated and replaced with the State Universal Basic Education Board.

From 1994 to Date, the Board has had seven Executive Chairmen as follows:-


1. Alh. Abdullahi Muhammad Kamba


2. Alh. Muhammadu Kangiwa (Madawakin Argungu)


3. Mr. Mathais M. Madugu


4. Hajiya Ma’inna Haruna Rashedd


5. Alh.Muhammad Magawata Aliero


6. Alh. Haruan Dan Katsina


7. Prof. Sulaiman Khalid

The Board is currently made up of Seven Main Departments which are as follows:-

a) Personnel Management Department

b) Quality Assurance Department

c) Planning, Research And Statistics Department

d) Finance And Supply Department

e) Junior Secondary Schools Department

f) Primary Schools And Social Mobilization Department

g) Special Education Department

Apart from the Seven Departments above, there are other Main Units which are independent and with a few Units under some of the afore mentioned Departments respectively;

i. The Nomadic Education Unit

ii. Internal Audit Unit

iii. Public Relations Unit

iv. Stores Unit

v. Physical Planning Unit

vi. Transport and Maintenance Unit

vii. Homegrown School Feeding & Health Programme

viii. ICT Unit

ix. EMIS Unit